On a Secret Mission to Get Fit over the Holidays!

It sounds like a crazy idea to get fit during the holidays, doesn’t it?

In the latest studies the weight gain is less than was previous thought but it lasted all year and added up over time.

“Researchers at the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) and the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), lead by Jack A. Yanovski, M.D., Ph.D conducted a study about weight gain over the holidays.

The researchers found that study volunteers believed that they had gained much more weight than they actually had over the holidays, overestimating their weight gain by slightly more than 3 pounds. Fewer than 10 percent of subjects gained more than 5 pounds over the holiday season. However, Dr. Yanovski added, overweight and obese volunteers were more likely to gain five pounds than were those who were not overweight, which suggests that the holiday season may present special risks for those who are already overweight.

“Although an average holiday weight gain of less than a pound may seem unimportant, that weight was not lost over the remainder of the year,” Dr. Yanovski said. When 165 of the study volunteers were weighed a year after the study began, they had not lost the extra weight gained during the holidays, and ended the year a pound and a half heavier (1.4 lb) than they were the year before.

“This is a ‘good news/bad news’ story,” said Dr. Yanovski. “The good news is that people don’t gain as much weight as we thought during the holidays. The bad news is that weight gained over the winter holidays isn’t lost during the rest of the year.”

This year I am approaching Holiday eating differently.  I am doing a complete lifestyle change.  Thanks to products from the company I represent, It Works Global, I am losing weight and inches already and the season has just begun.  Over the past 6 months since I quit my job I have lost 15 pounds and now, since the 15th of Nov I have lost 4 more for a total of 19 pounds and about 8 inches.

It is exciting to see what happens when I incorporated products that help the body do what it is meant to do, use food and burn off what it doesn’t need.  My goal is to be down another 10 or 11 pounds by the first of the year.

So rather than making resolutions to lose weight on January 1, I will be revealing my before and after photos!  I can’t wait to show you and tell you how I did it!

Follow this link for a sneak peak at something that is helping other people manage holiday weight gain. Link

3 thoughts on “On a Secret Mission to Get Fit over the Holidays!

  1. Yeah, why wait until Jan. 1st to get started? Why not start now? I think that’s awesome. You inspire me!! I’m trying to get off sugar. And that Jan. 1st date has been calling my name. I need to start sooner than that!
    Looking forward to hearing about your progress! 🙂

Leave a Reply

